The Baptism of The Holy Spirit

I was baptized with the Holy Spirit in March 1998. I had been brought up in a Pentecostal Church from the time I was 12, and I had seen people praying in tongues., but I didn’t believe it. I was saved on October 10,.1997, but I still didn’t believe that praying in tongues was a real thing. One day, I had a conversation about tongues, with an older brother in Christ, and his wife. I knew they had the truth, so when they told me it was real, and told me to read the book of Acts, I believed that they believed it, but I wasn’t convinced that it was real.

I read the book of Acts. The following Sunday in church, I told the Lord: “Lord I’m not sure I believe in this, but I see it in Your Word, and I see it here in the church, so if it’s real and if it’s of you, I want it. Amen”

BAM!!!

I didn’t have any dramatic experience, I didn’t fall on the floor, actually I didn’t feel anything, I can’t explain  it, but one moment I was praying in English, and the next moment, I  wasn’t.

Now when I started praying in my prayer language, then I felt the power of the Holy Spirit flowing. I’ve often asked the Lord, many times since then,

“Why did you do it that way? Why does it seem like you answered a prayer of unbelief?” After all this time, He told me:

“Because you had to admit to ME the unbelief in your heart. Once you did that, I was able to cleanse it, and purify your faith in that instant, and then you were able to receive.”

Wow. There is no response to that but “Glory be to God!!”

Unbelief is like any other sin–we have to confess it to God and ask Him to forgive us, and ask Him to cleanse us of it, in order for Him to be able to purify our faith.

Posted on October 8, 2015, in The Holy Spirit, The Holy Spirit baptism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

